6 comments on “

  1. Haven’t read this entry of yours yet, but I figured I’d respond to your comment on my post before I respond to what you’ve written here.  I didn’t mean in general that seeing others drunk breaks my heart–occasionally it does, but on the whole, not necessarily.  I was thinking of a specific person that I saw more drunk than I’ve seen him, who I knew was drinking out of pain.  It wasn’t his being drunk that saddened me, but just recognizing how much reason he had to drink.  And I think it’s fair to say that it breaks my heart (aka I grieve, mourn) when I see others making destructive decisions.  Being drunk doesn’t necessarily equal destruction, but in the cases I was referring to Friday night, it was drunkeness that led to being reckless with other people.  So I see where you’re coming from in terms of sin being an opportunity for redemption, grace, etc., but I think I’m justified in mourning that our world is broken that growth has to come through pain.  I imagine it wasn’t supposed to be like that at all.  It’s hard for us to conceive of that, because most of the time we explain the need for pain or even for cloudy days in terms of making pleasure/sunny days better by contrast.  I have a tough time with that argument though, because in Eden, there was no pain, and yet I don’t think they were sold short or anything, just because they had nothing to compare it to.
    I’ve been reading Paradise Lost, since I have very minimal school-assigned reading this semester for some reason, so my mind’s been on the plane of God’s intention for the world, etc.  I’m always struck/confused by how Satan is allowed to enter Eden at all.  I guess the answer to that is the same as the question of human’s being given free will, because Satan plays the role of calling their free will to Adam and Eve’s attention.  God could have left the option open for Adam and Eve to obey/disobey by including the tree in Eden at all, but he really drives it home by letting Satan come in and get persuasive.  I’ve also just watched the Exorcist, so this is particularly alarming.

  2. Agreed. In that sense, I mourn as well. Seeing people drink to relieve pain could possibly break my heart as well, given the right circumstance. So I understand where you’re coming from. I can’t wait for the new earth – the way the world should be. I experienced a lot of that this summer, I’d love to tell you about it in person.As far as the entry of the snake in the garden of eden. God must have realized: there is no story without conflict. There is no redemption without pain. There is no glory without rescue. There is no heaven without a concept of hell.

  3. Loosely, those are the same as the greek: Raya (phileo), Ahava (agape), and Dode (eros). Good point. And sorry to imply that anyone was supposed to reply to anything.

  4. Hey, don’t bash middle schoolers! they are more mature than you think! or at least the ones i know..they would never ever think to respond in such a way and they so earnestly are trying to be cool. don’t know if they would have it in them to be that gutsy. but i feel like that’s a moot point. …318’s repsonse to the whole ” we condemn you to hell reponse” or message that these guys may or may not be proclaiming ( i wouldn’t know, i haven’t been on grounds in ages) is “we’re all in hell, but we want to go to heaven, wanna come?” this of course would be shown in an antagonistic poster to these fellows, in order to ask them, if they are so acceptant of discussion:” really, are ya really trying to alienate people?” … you have to understand as [former] young life leaders, we want to accept people ( romans 15:7) in order to win them through friendship/some form of love and thus direct confrontation is a bit odd and diasterous as a method of engaging people in order to honor God. so, other thoughts to your post : i had an amazing conversation with a south african constitutional lawyer who was up for some award from the UN this summer.. she was in the midst of writing up legislations about gay marriage. talk about a random person to pick up from the airport, but that happens to define my life. anyway, we talked about how it’s hard for her, as a christian, to administer justice to people who need to be protected through the government, that is separated from church, versus societal values that tend to want to abuse this people who make life choices in ways that go against the affirmed grained of man and woman. i think what stuck with me most was the concept that marriage is largely a social institutional and thus one the government has refrained upon infringing upon…until now. i personally, have no idea where to stand, i just want to make sure people are being loved, whether that is love that tells them that it is wrong or love that tells them what will honor God most, i don’t know… But, with the introduction of the necessity to protect all their citizens rights, aka their gay constituents, the south african gov’t has had to regulate this mainly societal institution called marriage. Thus, as a constitutional lawyer who is a great friend with one of my parent’s neighbors ( ..please, start singing it’s a small world after all), she has to promote justice and protect gay people’s rights at the same time believing in Jesus and adherring to her faith. it’s interesting. and faith building. Where God would stand on this issue, I am not sure. Does love trump all? as in, do we honor love professed by two people who wish to institionalize their affections, whether they be of the same gender or not. OR, do we adher to the plan originally set forth by God, which was modified technically with the creation of Eve, where one man joins with a woman and the two become one? Minus societal implications and ostracization of same sex unions, how do Christians response given the broken world we believe to live in? Do we uphold ideals, or do we work with what we have? you tell me, it’s great to think about, but what does it look like on the personal level because is that where it matters most?

  5. If its of the same gender, its not love in its complete sense. The love that is intended for marriage. Phileo? Sure, they can be companions. But if they aren’t concerned for the other’s salvation, then it is not love – complete love. There is no agape. That’s why they shouldn’t be married.Secular marriage, for that matter, gets it wrong too. And there needs to be redemption here as well. Our heterosexual society has done much and probably even more damage to marriage than homosexuals have.

Leave a Reply

