One comment on “The Irony of Facebook

  1. Hey Harrison,
    Man it’s been a long time since the summer. I’ve been reading your blog ever since though and what your doing sounds awesome; changing the world type of material which is a huge source of encouragment.
    Thought this one thought of yours was especially interesting. After reading it I’ve come see where you are coming from and humbly admit some of the “look at me” actions taken on facebook. I do agree all of humanity cries out for attention, to be noticed….in all reality, to be loved and facebook is a good place to see that front and center. I especially loved how you ended it with focusing on Christ, less of yourself, and living a meaningful life. Where in the days beforer facebook, other social networks etc. it seems connecting with people was more personal. More personal in the sense more time was taken out of one’s day to reach or talk to someone one does not talk to that often. Example, letters, visitations etc. Facebook and other institutions have seem to cut such actions and make it very easy and accessible to contact anyone from anywhere without having to do anything. Now that is good in the sense of being able to reach someone quickly who is relatively far away, or not good in the sense there is no sacrifice or effort in trying to re-connect with someone.
    As I personally think how facebook makes connecting with people less personal I do find value in it with the people I am around. Being on campus, serving in a christian community and trying to love and serve my classmates, facebook is excellent in coordinating activities, events, and invitations. Since it is a cultural norm that almost every student uses it is great to try and meet up with people I would have never known would have existed, or invite people to events. So if used as a tool, which I think (may have to research) is why it was set-up, I find facebook incredibly useful toward loving people but if used for self-glorification (which I am prone to do) and to make personal connections without taking the time to really dig into someone’s life, I find it incredibly addicting and degrading, not useful for the tool then becomes the object from which the original tool was used to accomplish (reaching people to connect with them on a more personal basis).
    Anyways, just some ramblings of mine that your post sparked. Kind of long which I apologize. Love reading your posts though. 🙂
    -Andrew Givens (the camp counselor in Southern 9 that was next to you but didn’t really talk until mid-summer)

Leave a Reply

